Membership Categories

Just as a tree does not make a forest, a block does not make a chain. At SiBAN, we believe in decentralization. As Nigeria’s Blockchain Association poised to become a blockchain and cryptocurrency ecosystem builder, our membership structure is decentralized, embracing diversity in the space.

Also, as a self-regulatory body, SiBAN’s membership structure spans the entire blockchain and cryptocurrency community. Our membership structure also accommodates “friends of the community” who are from relevant industries and sectors.

SiBAN has 8 (eight) membership categories. These categories are as follows:

(1) Individual: Natural persons with interest in Blockchain technology and its various applications: 
(a) Enthusiasts 
(b) Experts

(2) Industry(a) Entrepreneurs
(b) Corporate Bodies: corporate entities who are either private companies or public corporations who currently use Blockchain technology, plan to use Blockchain technology in their products or services; or generally interested in exploring the potentials of blockchain technology as a leverage for growth, competitiveness, or transformation. 

(3) Professionals Bodies 
Professional bodies in Nigeria who in the course of their professional services to their clients in both private and public sectors advice on blockchain technology and its use or integration to products or services. 

(4) Public Bodies 
Government Ministries, Departments, and Agencies (MDAs) who provide various services to the public and implement government policies, programs, and projects, particularly public bodies that play relevant roles in the blockchain technology, including economy, finance, industry, innovation, investments, law & security, national planning, regulations, and technology. 

(5) Educational & Research Institutions
Tertiary institutions such as private and public universities, polytechnics and colleges of education; local and international research institutions; and technical education boards;

(6) Students: Registered full-time or part-time students at a tertiary institution or registered and accredited training organisation. They shall not be entitled to vote at any general or special meeting or nominate for office. 

(7) Honourary Members: Honorary Members are created by resolution of the Committee. The resolution shall specify the reason for the Honorary membership and the rights and responsibilities of those Members as well as membership fees, if any.

(8) Non Governmental Organizations (NGOs): Registered associations and nonprofit organizations whose aims and objectives include promoting and supporting blockchain technology.

To view membership criteria, click here.