On 9 September, a victim emailed this Scam Alert to SiBAN for broadcast to the general members of the public. BEWARE OF GOLDMAN CAPITAL:

My name is XXXX XXXXX with phone number XXXXXXXXXXX. I was scammed by an online company called goldman-capital.net

I invested $100 in Bitcoin with the company but when it was time to earn, the company demanded for another payment to secure the investment.
I suspected foul play since this was not mentioned before I registered with the company. I refused to make any further payment and thereafter requested for a refund which was ignored. Since then, I have not been able to log in to the site.
The general public should beware of this fraudulent company called GOLDMAN CAPITAL.
Our Checks
From our checks, we establish that there is a genuine broker-dealer and investment adviser firm registered with the United States Securities and Exchange Commission (US SEC) with a similar name but different address – Goldman Capital Management, Inc. (CRD Number: 16736; SEC Numbers: 8-34476 [for the broker-dealer]; 801-25646 [for the investment advisor]), which has the following mailing address: 767 Third Avenue, 25th Floor, New York, NY 10017.

But according to the US SEC public alert, there is a certain Goldman Capital Management, Inc which has been impersonating the genuine Goldman Capital Management, Inc. “The impersonator has NO connection with, and is not to be confused with, the genuine Goldman Capital Management, Inc. The SEC’s EDGAR database and WebIARD (Investment Adviser Registration Depository [operated by the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA) on behalf of the SEC and the North American Securities Administrators Association (NASAA)]) contain registration information for the genuine entity”, states the US SEC.

Though this impersonator, as reported by the US SEC, maintains the website http://goldmancapitalmanagement.com/, a different website that has scammed this particular victim of his $100 (http://goldman-capital.net).

The site http://goldman-capital.net, is currently unavailable. The domain name is registered with NAMECHEAP INC, an American domain-name registrar.. It was registered on 5 April 2020 and expires 5 April 2021. Typical with many scam sites, the original owner of this site has made its domain registrant information anonymous. Therefore, the name of the registrant is ‘WhoisGuard Protected’ and the organization is WhoisGuard, Inc with address at P.O. Box 0823-03411, Panama. WhoisGuard has provided this anonymous privacy protection services to the domain registrant of Goldman-capital.net. Under WhoisGuard’s terms of service, it holds itself not liable for any losses any user might suffer from the use of the such sites. At best, WhoisGuard would advise that you may consider filing a complaint with ICANN, or you may contact the hosting company. When we checked  http://www.whoishostingthis.com/ to know the hosting company, this was the result:

This domain name is not registered. This domain name has either expired or has never existed.

Obviously, the deed is done.


Our Advice

Never send money, whether fiat or crypto, to a bank account or crypto wallet without having conducted some research about the individual or business you are investing in. Do some checks and do so independently. Don’t simply rely on what your contact on Facebook, Instagram, Telegram, WhatsApp, or other platform has told you. Trust no one. When in doubt, reach out to a community such as SIBAN or other trusted community to confirm your findings. Never be in a hurry to cash in on a so-called investment opportunity. And as they always say, never invest what you cannot afford to lose.


Beware of Goldman-Capital

Based on the report we have received about Goldman-Capital with domain name at http://goldman-capital.net, members of the Nigeria blockchain and crypto community and the general member of the public should BEWARE.

Please share with your connection. It may save a life.

Leave a comment

I accept the Privacy Policy